Tomato Adventure

23 Apr

This weekend I took a break from sewing, not that I was getting that much done anyway. Thursday Mom got a bunch of tomatoes so we changed our Girls Sewing Day planned for Friday into a Tomato Canning Day. Thursday afternoon I cleaned up the kitchen so we could take off bright and early Friday morning.I didn’t get this picture until after we had started. We actually had 9 boxes of tomatoes and 1 box of celery.

A very willing helper! She worked hard all day.

We made Pizza Sauce from a recipe Mom had from Granny:

Later we also made another recipe we got from my sister.

We did most of the canning outside on the camp stove so the house wouldn’t be so hot! The weather here really turned warm last week. Saturday we started our A/C.

We also made stewed tomatoes and whole tomatoes. And a bunch of salsa. The salsa recipe we got from my sister.

Grandma taking a break with the children.

Supervisor! 🙂 He actually did very well all day. In the evening I had him in my bed and he fell asleep. For about 2 minutes. Then he was happy and just lay there and played and kicked. It was cooler in there than in the living room so I think he was more comfortable. I didn’t get any sleep until he went back out.

Our finished product! 🙂 

Something about canned food looks so beautiful and homey. And it makes the work worth it!

I was completely exhausted that night. I sat in the rocking chair to cut up my last tomatoes. 😉 The next morning I got up and ate breakfast with the family. Then after a warm shower, I headed back to bed with a book, a jar of Powerade, and a quart of tea. After two days of mostly rest and extra breathing treatments, I am getting some of my energy back.

I just recently found out about PicMonkey. I had fun editing some of these pictures with their program. Have any of you ever used that? I found out about it on this blog. She has a lot of nice pictures.

Ps. We didn’t get the tomatoes all done. Brittany and Mom are working on them today again. I think this will be the last day.

Leave a Reply

