eBay, Etsy.com, eCrater.com ???

3 Aug

Sometimes all these “e” words get confusing! Right now I have an account on all of them and trying to figure out if it I need all of them. Do you have any advice? Here is how I got here:

I began selling stuff on eBay. When I started, I sold used stuff mostly and slowly transitioned into mostly selling my handmade items. That has worked out great most of the time. My big problem with eBay is the seller fees are very expensive. They have continued to rise since I started selling there. Right now, I only have one fixed price listing left on there. I have left it on because I am still getting sales from it. I guess a couple of sales is better than nothing even though the fees are high.

That is how I became interested in Etsy.com. Their fees are much more reasonable. I enjoy Etsy, but it is more difficult to get sales there. It takes a lot more work to promote your shop, etc. I don’t mind the work, but I have to decide that it’s ok to put so much effort in that shop, if I don’t have time to do everything. Or what if I put all that effort in and still don’t get sales?

Recently I found eCrater.com. That site is similar to Etsy in that it takes more work to promote your shop, but there are some things about it similar to eBay. The main thing is that I can sell a variety of things, not just handmade things. Right now I have some of my excess coupons listed on there. The other thing I just discovered is the listing fees are totally free from what I understand! Wow. I don’t know for sure as I haven’t made a sale yet.  

If you have any thoughts on this subject, I would love to hear from you!

Another thing, I have planned for my Etsy shop is to get a new banner and/or logo. One thing I have learned is that my name should have more to do with the products I sell! I’m not sure if I’m ready to start over with a new shop, though. For starters I asked my SIL to help me design a new banner. She is better at that stuff than I am. Any ideas for us?

I don’t have ads on my blog from my Etsy and eCrater shops because… um, I don’t know how to get them to work! The widgets don’t communicate with my blog and I haven’t figured out how to fix them yet. So hopefully soon you’ll see better stuff on here…………. 😉 If you have suggestions I am open to advice!

2 Responses to “eBay, Etsy.com, eCrater.com ???”

  1. Suzanne August 5, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    I haven’t sold on ebay in years. I moved to eCrater, and yes it is totally free – no fees to list and no final valuation fees. I set up on etsy, but the effort I put into making a presence in the forums and such never paid off in sales. My best performer has been ArtFire followed by eCrater. zibbet is another up and coming venue to keep an eye on. I have a shop there and they have been steadily increasing sellers, traffic, and features. zibbet does not plan on getting rid of their free account like artfire did. Best of sales!

    • merrydeals4u August 5, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      Thanks for the info! I haven’t heard of some of the sites you mentioned. I’ll have to check them out!

Leave a Reply

