My Pattern

12 Jul

My Pattern

I use patterns nearly every time I sew, crochet or anything. Even in cooking we use a ‘pattern’ –a recipe. Even if I do something from memory, the pattern is still stored in my head somewhere. It is very important to follow my pattern if I want my project to turn out the way it should. If I end up with lumpy icing or a mishapen garment or a crinkly doily, I have likely neglected the pattern somewhere.

How much more important to follow my Pattern for life! His name is Jesus Christ and He is not hard to follow if I heed his directions in the Word of God!

Christ is my perfect Pattern or Example in every area of life. He is able to perfectly love everyone. 1John 4:7 Beloved, let us love one another, for love is of God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. 8 He who does not love does not know God, for God is love. 9 In this the love of God was manifested toward us, that God has sent His only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through Him. 19 We love Him because He first loved us. (NKJV) It is only by allowing God’s love to flow through me that I can love others.

Humiliy is another characteristic of Jesus that I would like to follow. Philippians 2:5 Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus, 6 who, being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, 7 but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men. 8 And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross. (NKJV) Too often it is tempting to promote myself instead of the Glory of God and the good qualities of other people.

Accepting others just the way they are is another area I can grow more like Jesus. He never turned anyone away or looked down on others who were different than Him.  Mark 2:13 Then He went out again by the sea; and all the multitude came to Him, and He taught them. 14 As He passed by, He saw Levi the son of Alphaeus sitting at the tax office. And He said to him, “Follow Me.” So he arose and followed Him. 15 Now it happened, as He was dining in Levi’s house, that many tax collectors and sinners also sat together with Jesus and His disciples; for there were many, and they followed Him. 16 And when the scribes and Pharisees saw Him eating with the tax collectors and sinners, they said to His disciples, “How is it that He eats and drinks with tax collectors and sinners?” 17 When Jesus heard it, He said to them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners, to repentance.” (NKJV). It is much more comfortable to surround myself with others who believe and live the way I do. In doing that I miss the blessing of leading others to our Perfect Saviour!

These are only a few examples of the way our Perfect Pattern is an Example to us. The list could go on and on. The important thing is to make sure and obey God when He points out flaws in my life. It is only with His help that I can become more like my Pattern.

 In what ways is Jesus your Perfect Pattern?

Leave a Reply

