My Big Project

8 Jul

My Big Project for the Summer

I got this ball of natural colored size 10 crochet thread – 1,000 yards – to make hair nets. (Because they were selling so well at the time, I figured I’d use it all eventually – like the white one I have.) Even before that, I had been dreaming of making a huge doily slash tablecloth. This ball of thread sat around for a couple of days, still new. That’s when I decided to use it for a table cloth instead of hair nets. (That’s why you don’t see many for sale!) The thought was, since the ball of thread is still new, it would be a test to see how big a thing I could make out of a 1000 yards!   🙂    Yeah, I have funny ideas sometimes.

This doily / table cloth is turning out pretty well, I think. On the latest pictures you can see it ‘ruffles’ at the edges. It’s not supposed to do that, but I think it will work out as I go on. At least earlier ruffles did.

I have been working on it for at least a month now! In my free time of course. Every once in a while I need a break from my work! 🙂

I forgot to mention: I don’t have a pattern for this huge doily! Am I crazy? Yes, I am making it up as I go. I have made some doilies in a much smaller version so I took that pattern (also made by me) and went on from there.

So here are the current pictures. I actually have two sets because I took them and intended to post them and didn’t get it done so I have more now. That way you can see a bit of the progress. Sorry about the funny color. My bedroom lighting does that to pictures for some reason. 

Those were the first pictures. These last three were taken about two weeks later.

Shall I keep going? Or quit now? 🙂

2 Responses to “My Big Project”

  1. Joy September 9, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    It’s beautiful!!! You are doing a fantastic job on it. I admire your ability to do this with no pattern.

Leave a Reply

