Handmade Bag Pictures

8 Jul

I got this bag done and here are the pictures. I put a zipper in the top so I can use it as a purse. That was a challenge. I actually let Mom do the sewing of the last part so I wouldn’t get so frustrated at my sewing machine. It has this habit of breaking thread lately.

I used the smaller option of the pattern Simplicity 2830. The outside, pockets, and handles are cotton.

For the lining I used a dark blue cotton. Plus inside I have a stiff fabric (I’m not actually sure what it is). I didn’t use the stiffer fabric alone for the lining because it is old-fashioned bright yellow with green flowers! Next time I want to find my real canvas to use, because the yellow stuff still isn’t quite stiff enough.

The handles are just long enough to hang comfortably on my shoulder if I want to.

I have always preferred the smallest possible purses. 🙂 So this thing looks very big to me. Amazingly all my stuff fit in it though! This picture shows it stuffed full of stuff:

I got to use it already yesterday. I made my monthly visit to the hospital infusion center for my IVIG and my book actually fit inside my purse! So I didn’t have to take two or three bags in to hold all my stuff. It depends what I take though.

I used to think I would get lots of stuff done just sitting there for 4 hours. I usually never looked at most of the stuff I took along, so I quit taking it. I’m usually so sleepy from the Benadryl I can’t concentrate and it doesn’t work to crochet with an IV in my hand! I didn’t even sleep yesterday, though. Probably because my book was so interesting! It is also one of the saddest books I’ve ever read though.

Leave a Reply

