Contentment

28 Jun

Sometimes when I am “sitting around” crocheting, I think of all the things I wish I could be doing instead. That has not been very beneficial to me, as you can imagine.

Lately I have been trying to be more content with where God has me right now. I feel much better when I think that God created me and loves me just the way I am. It is much more profitable to thank God for what He has done for me and to trust Him for the future.

Ps 139:14 I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well. (NKJV)

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. (NIV)

Jeremiah 31:3 The LORD has appeared of old to me, saying: “Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you. (NKJV)

John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made. 4 In Him was life, and the life was the light of men. (NKJV)

Recently I read a book by Linda Dillow called Calm My Anxious Heart. I was a bit surprised when the main subject in her book was contentment. After I read through (most of) it, it did make a lot of sense. If I am content with my lot in life and what’s going on around me, I am trusting in God and not being anxious.

With Jesus Christ in my life it is possible to be content in what I am doing when I see my work as work for Him. He blesses me with peace and helps me to be thankful for everything He has done for me.

 If you missed the last article in the “Something to Think On” category you can read it here or click on the category link in the side column.

 Is there things that help you be content? I’d love to hear about how the Lord is working your life!

 

Leave a Reply

