Why I make Hairnets

22 Jun

I began making hairnets for myself. While I enjoy making pretty things such as doilies, coasters, ect, I have always had had interest in making useful things. To me, a hairnet is something useful that I can make for myself instead of buying them. The real bargain is that the homemade ones last way longer, too!
After I began making them for myself, I thought others could be using these too. When I first started selling them, I had no idea there is such a market for bun covers.
I believe in the literal translation of the Bible in 1 Corinthians 11 where it teaches that Christian women should cover their hair with a veiling. I do not believe and do not promote that the bun cover/hairnets that I make should take the place of the veiling. They only cover part of the hair, and do not provide an adequate covering of the hair. The hair net is to keep the hair in place so that a veiling can be worn neatly over it. If the bun cover is someone’s first step towards wearing a veiling, I do not condemn you in that, but I do pray that you will continue to learn and grow to an understanding of wearing the headship veiling.
I know that many people use bun covers for a variety of reasons, some of which, I would not encourage. I do hope to be a witness to my customers of the principles taught in God’s word.
Wearing a veiling has long been a practice of the Mennonite and Amish people and is often associated with them. That is one reason why I put the words Amish & Mennonite in the title of my listings. I hope that draws the attention of those honestly seeking a method of Biblically covering their hair.

 

Leave a Reply

