History of mydesertdeals and it’s owner

20 Jun

The history of mydesertdeals actually started quite a long time ago. Many years ago a little girl was born to…. Just joking. 🙂

Since my main line of products has to do with crocheting you might find it interesting to know when I started crocheting. In grade school, I can’t remember what grade exactly, probably 5th or 6th, our teacher taught us girls how to crochet. I made a blanket for my favorite doll, Becky, which I still have. I never again crocheted anything until I was 20 or 21 years old, I met a lady who crocheted very well and made beautiful doilies and throws. I determined then that I was going to learn!

I found a old ‘how to’ book Mom had and I practiced until I made a doily. At first I only made doilies. It took me a while, but I did eventually get into making a few aghans. I made one for each of my parents and sister & brothers and a few others and that is as far as I got!

Although crocheting with yarn is a bit easier than thread, I still don’t enjoy doing aghans much. I have a very short attention span and if the project takes more than a couple weeks… You can’t imagine how many unfinished projects are in my closet!

Through the next years, I crocheted when ever I had spare time and learned to really enjoy it. I mostly used patterns, but I did experiment abit at adjusting them.

A couple years ago, I found a pattern on Candle on the Hill for a hairnet and immediately set out to try it. I loved it right away! About 6 months later when that one started getting worn out, I made another one for me and one for Mom also. That is when I started experimenting and making my own pattern. That was the first time I made my ‘flower style’.

About that time I got interested in selling them. I had already been selling stuff on www.eBay.com and www.Etsy.com so I listed one or two on those sites. That was in August 2010. They sold sporadically until November & December, then is when they picked up very well.

Several times I wondered if it really was worth trying to sell them. They were a lot of work and didn’t seem to be making much. While I was still experimenting with the pattern, I didn’t make them very fast! I got really excited when they took off over the holidays in 2011. That is when I decided to beef it up and give it my best effort.

The Lord has really blessed! I am not getting rich on selling hairnets! But it has given me something to do and does provide a bit of extra income.

History Part 2

Leave a Reply

